S#@t You Should’ve Heard (Seen?) Before: Wilco – Ashes of American Flags

Here’s what happens we turn the American dream upside-down to see what’s on the other side of it. This is a DVD showing a group of tired road dogs with back problems rocking out every night–maybe ’cause they don’t got nothin’ else to do. This show goes over that line from a really great musical performance movie to a great piece of art in its own right. Like The Last Waltz, really.

Sorry, guys; I’m tired tonight. I’ll finish this off tomorrow. But watch this.

I’m down on my hands and knees / Every time a doorbell rings. / I shake like a toothache / Whenever I hear myself sing.

Leave a Reply

