DiG!: Brian Jonestown Massacre / The Dandy Warhols

A few years ago, I had a job where I drove around York region all summer, listening to music.

There may have been other things involved, but those are the important parts.

Anyway, one of my coworkers introduced me to the BJM that year, and I’ve sort of danced around being a huge fan of theirs ever since.

This is a documentary that was filmed over–well, it must’ve been years–detailing the clashes and changes undergone by The Brian Jonestown Massacre and their friends/rivals in The Dandy Warhols.

The thing that I think of the most watching this is the difference between socialized behavior and natural behavior. How much of this do you think is a role they play–well, I’m a mad genius so I need to behave in such and such a fashion–and how much is something that they just can’t help?

It’s in 12 parts. Better set aside an hour or two.

Big props to Tyler Davie. You are hipper than hip. And I am not.

Leave a Reply

