Scores, Releases & Re-Releases – Queens Of The Stone Age

So. Record Store Day was last Saturday, and while I was unfortunately out of the city, I did make it to Sonic Boom–twice, haha–on Sunday. I was lucky enough to pick up some albums I’ve been looking for for a long time, too, which was great.

The one I was most excited about? An original pressing of Queens of the Stone Age’s self-titled debut.

This was awesome, because for years, it was basically unavailable. It was re-released last year with bonus tracks. Rather than checking out what the tracks were, though, I saw the original pressing of QOTSA and just bought it.

Now I have to go and buy the re-release, too.

Why, you ask?

That track, The Bronze, was included on the re-release. It’s from a split EP recorded by Josh Homme (as Queens Of The Stone Age) and a stoner-metal band called Beaver, who sound so much like a Kyuss cover band it’s crazy.

Anyway, the original split CD is now about $40, according to Wikipedia, and even more, according to my friends who -may- be able to get me one.

But… Gotta have it. What a great track, eh? And what a solo!

Leave a Reply

